Home / Tax Preparation & Review AI
Drake Tax
Professional tax software for 1040 and business returns, desktop or online, with Drake SmartExtract (beta) reading source documents into the return.
| What the AI does | Drake Intelligence (integrated AI across Drake products); Drake SmartExtract, AI-powered extraction that reads uploaded PDFs such as W-2s and populates return fields for confirmation (beta in Drake Tax and Drake Tax Online) |
|---|---|
| Who it serves | Solo practitioners, Small CPA firms, Tax offices |
| Starting price | $379.99/tax year (Pay-Per-Return, 10 returns included); Drake Tax 1040 $1,895; Drake Tax Pro $2,375 |
| Pricing model | Annual license or pay-per-return |
| Free trial | Not stated on the vendor site |
| Best fit | Solo practitioner, Small firm |
| Category | Tax Preparation & Review AI |
| Also fits | Document Collection, OCR & Data Entry |
| Works with | GruntWorx, Drake Portals, Drake Workflow, Drake E-Sign, Drake Pay, Drake Accounting |
| SOC 2 | Not stated on the vendor's site |
| Checked | 2026-10-29, against the vendor's own page |
Who it's for
Drake Tax is listed as a fit for solo practitioners and small firms, and the vendor names solo practitioners, small CPA firms and tax offices on its own site. The job it gets hired for: preparing and reviewing returns faster, with AI reading the source documents and flagging what doesn't tie out. It also fits the Document Collection, OCR & Data Entry category.
What it costs
Drake Tax starts at $379.99/tax year (Pay-Per-Return, 10 returns included); Drake Tax 1040 $1,895; Drake Tax Pro $2,375, annual license or pay-per-return. Ask the vendor about a trial when you reach out.
Good to know
Drake Tax is the professional 1040 and business-return package that thousands of small tax offices run, desktop or online, and the 2026 season adds Drake Intelligence, Drake's integrated AI, with SmartExtract reading uploaded W-2s and other source PDFs into the return for the preparer to confirm (beta). Early-season prices for tax year 2026: Drake Tax Pro $2,375 (unlimited individual and business returns, multi-user), Drake Tax 1040 $1,895, Pay-Per-Return $379.99 with 10 individual returns included and extra 1040s at $49.99 or business returns at $74.99, plus a Practice Essentials Bundle of Portals, Workflow and E-Sign at $599; GruntWorx, Drake Pay and Drake Accounting plug in alongside.
More in Tax Preparation & Review AI
- BasisAI agents for accounting firms that take the first pass on tax returns and month-end closes, from K-1 extraction and trial-balance mapping to workpapers.Quote-basedDetails
- Black OreAI platform that prepares complex 1040 and K-1 returns from client documents, builds workpapers and exports data into the firm's tax software.$60/returnDetails
- ByronAI agent for CPA firms that organizes client documents, builds workpapers and prepares individual, business and K-1 returns from plain-language instructions.Quote-basedDetails
- CCH Axcess TaxWolters Kluwer's cloud professional tax suite for firms of all sizes, with an AI-enabled CCH AnswerConnect research bar inside the return.Quote-basedDetails
- FiledAI tax platform for accounting firms that extracts source-document data, enters it into your tax software and reviews each return line by line.Quote-basedDetails
- HubSync Tax WorkpapersCloud tax workpaper workspace for CPA firms that imports trial balances, maps accounts to 1120 and 1065 tax lines with AI and tracks review sign-offs.Quote-basedDetails